The Killingworth Tax Collector bills for and collects all real estate, motor vehicle, and personal property taxes assessed in the town. Your taxes cover both the town budget, on which the Town Meeting votes on the third Monday in May, and Killingworth’s share of the Region 17 school budget, which is subject to a referendum each year on the first Monday of May.
For July 2023 Collection
TAX BILLS WILL BE MAILED ON JUNE 30, 2023
Notice is hereby given to the taxpayers of the Town of Killingworth, that the first installment of Real Estate and Personal Property taxes on the Grand List of October 1, 2022, is due and payable on July 1, 2023. Motor Vehicle taxes are also due on July 1, 2023, in one installment.
If not paid on or before August 1, 2023, the installment becomes delinquent and subject to interest at a rate of 18% per annum (1 ½ % for each month or fraction thereof) dating back to the original due date of the bill. Two months of interest will be due on August 2, 2023. A minimum interest charge of $2.00 is applicable to each delinquent tax bill.
Checks should be made payable to: Tax Collector. Mail postmarked by the US Postal Service on or before August 1, 2023, will be considered an on-time payment. Payment can also be made online at www.townofkillingworth.com.
As a matter of law, the taxpayer is liable to the town for the tax installment(s) as they become due and payable. Liability is not created by, nor dependent upon receipt of a tax bill. Therefore, failure to receive a bill does not relieve the taxpayer of the requirement to pay the statutorily required interest when a late payment is made.
Michele B. Nuhn, CCMC, CCMO
Killingworth taxpayers are now able to pay their real estate, personal property, motor vehicle, and supplemental motor vehicles taxes online with a credit card, debit card or e-check. Payments made online will be updated within two business days.
This service is provided through Point and Pay. Point and Pay adds a 2.50% ($2.00 minimum) convenience fee for processing your payment on a credit card or debit card. The fee for an e-check is $2.50.
Frequently Asked Questions
In the State of Connecticut you are taxed on real estate, motor vehicles, and personal property.
- Any land or buildings you own are considered real estate.
- Registered motorized or nonmotorized vehicles(including cars, trucks, motorcycles, and trailers) are considered motor vehicles for tax purposes.
- Personal property includes fixtures either owned or leased by a business. Unregistered motor vehicles are also taxed as personal property.
The property tax rate is expressed in mills, or thousandths of a dollar. For example, a mill rate of 24.78 would be equivalent to $24.78 in tax per $1,000 of net assessed value. The Board of Finance sets the mill rate annually.
The first installment of your real estate and personal property taxes is due July 1, payable by August 1. You have a one month “grace period” in which to pay without a penalty. If August 1 falls on a weekend, you have until the first business day in August to pay, in person or by mail (with a U.S. postmark used as date of payment).
The second installment is due on January 1, payable by February 1. You will only receive one bill for your real estate and personal property tax bills. We do not send a bill out for the second installment.
Motor vehicle taxes are due July 1, payable by August 1st. Motor vehicle taxes unpaid after August 1st will be reported to the Connecticut Department of Motor Vehicles, and, as provided by law, registrations will be denied until all tax bills are paid in full.
Supplemental motor vehicle taxes are due January 1, payable by February 1. Unpaid Supplemental Motor Vehicle taxes are also reported to the Motor Vehicle Department.
Past due payments are subject to interest at the rate of 1½ percent per month back to the original due date. Interest is applied the first day of each month, in accordance with Connecticut State Statute 12-146. Interest is applied to the outstanding principal balance only. Payments made after the “grace period” are considered past due and will incur interest charges. For example, a payment received on August 2 will incur 3 percent interest, for the two months of delinquency (July and August). These deadlines are set by Connecticut State Statute and cannot be changed by the town.
No, the interest charges are set by Connecticut state law. The Tax Collector does not have the authority to waive interest
Tax bills are mailed during the last week of June each year. If you do not receive a tax bill by the first week of July, please call the Tax Collector’s office at 860-663-1765, ext. 508 or send an email to email@example.com . Connecticut General State Statute 12-130 says that failure to receive a tax bill does not relieve the taxpayer of the requirement to pay the bill. Consequently, if you do not receive a tax bill, the tax is still due, even with any interest that may have accrued. Please note: you will only receive one bill for Real Estate and Personal Property Taxes. We do not send out a bill for the second installment of these bills.
If you newly registered a vehicle after October 1 (first time registration), you will receive a pro-rated tax bill. This supplemental bill will cover the time from the month the vehicle was first registered through September 30 (the end of the assessment period). Supplemental Motor Vehicle tax bills are mailed the last week of December and are due January 1, payable by February 1st.
Yes. If you replaced one vehicle with another, and used the same license plates, you will received a pro-rated supplemental tax bill in January for the new vehicle. You will receive a credit on the supplemental bill for the amount you paid on the old vehicle. You will receive this credit without applying for it. However, you still must pay the entire amount due on the old vehicle. If you obtained a new license plate for the new vehicle, you must apply for credit with the Assessor’s office. Contact the Assessor at 860-663-1765, ext. 506.
Do not ignore your bill! If your vehicle has been sold, stolen, or declared a total loss, you may be entitled to a credit. Two forms of written proof are required, and you must apply for the credit within a limited time. Please contact the Assessor’s Office at 860-663-1765, ext. 506 to discuss.
If your Real Estate tax is escrowed, the bill will be mailed to the mortgage company. If you receive the bill and your taxes are escrowed, you should immediately contact your lender and ask to whom and where the bill should be sent, so that payment can be made in a timely manner.
The most convenient way to pay your tax bill is by mail. If you wish to have a receipt returned to you, please include a self-addressed stamped envelope with your payment and make checks payable to Tax Collector, Town of Killingworth.
If you owe delinquent taxes on any vehicle in your name, you may not renew any registrations at the Department of Motor Vehicles without paying your taxes first. All delinquent taxes in your name must be paid in full with cash, bank check, or money order to obtain an immediate release or clearance for DMV.
Michele B. Nuhn, Tax Collector, CCMC, CCMO
Debbie Oehrle, Tax Clerk
Phone: 860-663-1765 ext. 508
Monday – Wednesday 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Thursday 8:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.
Friday 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 noon
(occasionally closed for lunch 12-1pm)
Current mill rate: 23.22
5-year Mill Rate History
2022 GL : 23.47
2021 GL : 23.22
2020 GL : 26.72
2019 GL : 26.72
2018 GL : 27.47